Open Space Committee

Mission Statement

The Dracut Open Space Committee is committed to encouraging and facilitating the preservation and appreciation of Dracut's natural, farm, and recreational lands. By working with municipal and state organizations we integrate local conservation and environmental goals with state and regional initiatives.

Our mission is sustained through several activities including, but not limited to, those listed here:

  • Advising the selectmen on the retention or sale of tax lien property as it becomes available
  • Community education through informational fliers, public forums, and field trips
  • Promoting Dracut conservation projects by working with town boards and personnel
  • Coordinate with Intra-State organizations that encourage open space preservation
  • Increasing Dracut's open space by informing local landowners of, and helping to secure, land preservation options
  • Engaging in conservation advocacy and campaigning for preservation or funding, specifically in the news media and at town meetings
  • Active open space stewardship, including trail-building, trail maintenance, and signage
  • Strategic long term planning by contributing to the Dracut Open Space and Recreation Plan

Board Members

Name Title
Dave Sutherland
Colleen Barclay
Marianne Blanchet
Emile Demers
Bill Greenwood
David Sutherland Chairman
Donna Corbin
Karen Merrill
Susan Koufogazos